Liebster Award and V-day stamped cards!

I was nominated for the Liebster Award by the awesome Eliza! Thanks Eliza! The Liebster Award is given to up-and-coming bloggers with less than 200 followers.

Here are the rules:
Share 11 facts about yourself.
Answer the awarder’s 11 questions.
Ask 11 questions of your own.
Nominate 11 bloggers.

Since this is my craft blog, I’ve decided to share 11 Artsyfartsycraftsy facts about me instead.

11 Artsyfartsycraftsy facts about me:
1. I made zines as a kid. I was obsessed with mermaids and made one with a short story, a crossword puzzle, a riddle page, comics and fake mermaid bios. Cricket magazine was my source of inspiration back then.
2. I’m a hoarder of arts/crafts supplies. (not too proud of this, but I can’t help it!)
3. Since we didn’t have a gameboy or a family computer, we made a gameboy out of paper. The game was Popeye and the objective was to reach Olive Oyl, dodging the baddies and eating Spinach for strength along the way.
4. We had a gumamela shrub and I loved it so much. As a kid, I tucked it behind my ears and made bubbles with it and still fantasize about that gumamela jelly my mother said she made as a teen.
5. Influenced by Sweet Valley, I attempted to make my own YA novels using cheapo spiral notebooks. I had fun with the physical description part and drawing them on the first page but never got to finish them because of my extremely short attention span.
6. I was obsessed with no-cook fudge and pastillas as a kid. I was so obsessed and believed that it was a big deal that I drew the steps of the recipe. I saw the drawing recently, complete with overzealous ALL CAPS.
7. There was an old cookbook at home and I was searching for recipes that involved ingredients we already had and saw one recipe that seemed easy enough and didn’t need cooking. Turns out it was eggnog, which I didn’t fancy at all.
8. My mom encouraged me to craft. We’d make nature impression prints using leaves and kraft paper and use air-dry clay to create tiny pots and pans for my dolls.
9. I can never cut straight lines, even if I wanted to. I just can’t do it.
10. Because I’m not fond of sewing, I use pinking shears to prevent fabric from fraying, and to add that punky DIY effect. Or I’m making excuses because I’m too lazy to sew, heh.
11. I’m a spiritist, but I used to teach Sunday School at the Catholic church when I was in highschool (it was required by our school) and for Valentine’s day I brought some colored paper, scissors and crayons and told the kids to make V-day cards for their loved ones. I was so surprised and happy that they gave their cards to me afterwards and ended up bawling in front of the kids, haha.

Eliza’s questions, which I enjoyed answering:
1. What is your favorite color?
Pink! Right now I love this combo: Hot Pink, mint green and gold

2. If given the chance to live in a foreign country, where would you go?
I haven’t been to Japan and I think living there would be very interesting (crafty and fashionable people, lots of fat cats, my oh my). Melbourne, Australia is heavenly too. I’d love to live there and make and sell crafts and zines. Then I’d subscribe to Frankie magazine and attend craft expos. Mmm, craft expos.

3. What’s the last film you’ve seen? Did you like it?
Les Miserables. Quick story: When I was a little girl my dad would play cassette tapes of Les Miz (The London cast) during road trips and tell us the story behind each song. I grew to love it, almost to the point of memorizing each song, and often dreamt of there being a musical movie with stars I know. I didn’t like the first film (because it didn’t involve the songs) so this film is my dream, after more than ten years of dreaming about the concept itself. I am very biased and give it a rating of 5/5 stars. Also, yes, I was crying audibly all throughout the movie, haha. Opening credits pa lang namamaga na mata ko level haha.

4. What’s the last book you’ve read? Would you recommend it?
I was browsing through Jonathan Adler’s book: 100 Ways to Happy Chic Your Life at some bookstore and I felt so happy to be reading it at the start of the year. Very light, fun and inspiring.

5. What course did you finish in college? If given the chance to choose another course, what would it be?
Communication Arts. Wish I was brave enough to go after my dream course at that time, which was Fine Arts.

6. If someone’s going to make a film about your life, who would you choose to play your mother?
Ooh. Joan Chen maybe.

7. Favorite cake flavor? ice cream flavor?
Love this question! Haha. I like Brazo de Mercedes from Goldilocks and Costa Brava’s Caramel Cake. For my fave ice cream flavor, as of now I like salted caramel, earl grey and fruity blends. Also coffee! Not a chocolate fan, sorry.

8. What would you say is your talent? Show off with pictures if necessary. ;)
I can roll my tongue! Does that count?

9. Worst job experience?
No comment. Heh.

10. Worst vacation/trip so far?
None–I willed myself to forget those bad memories haha.

11. Best vacation/trip so far?
That backpacking trip to Europe back in college. Best ever.

Here are my questions:
1. Most inspiring place in the metro?
2. Who is your favorite local artist and why?
3. Who is your favorite foreign artist and why?
4. Dream craft skill
5. Your craft goal this year
6. Type of music you listen to while crafting
7. Favorite movie and book?
8. Favorite childhood activity related to arts/crafts?
9. Who are your craft idols? (link to their blogs too if you can!)
10. Favorite craft store locally
11. Describe your “craft area” at home, and share a photo if you like. :)

Tagging some of my favorite artsycraftsy Pinay bloggers. Hello, lovely ladies! I know you have more than 200 followers but I’d like to read your answers! :)
1. Allie
2. Geli
3. Mansy
4. Jonette
5. HeyLadySpring
6. Aizkim
7. Stars for dreams
8. Alessa
9. Bored and crafty
10. Googly Gooeys
11. The Fozzy book

Also! Have I mentioned that I love Valentine’s day? After Christmas, it’s my favorite holiday since it gives me an excuse to declare my love for everyone around me and to be as mushy and cheesy as possible. Last year I gave origami hearts to office friends, with little notes on why I think they rock. This year I plan on giving stamped cards!

I made these stamps while having dessert at my fave Korean restaurant in RCBC. I made a heart stamp and a lacy heart pattern stamp. Tested them out using bright red ink and pastels and tried a bit of that ombre effect:

RED

BLUE

I’m planning on having a Mabuhay DIY craft challenge soon, with handmade goodies to be given to a lucky participating crafter, so stay tuned!

17 thoughts on “Liebster Award and V-day stamped cards!

  1. Thank you so much for tagging me in this and that means, I get an award haha! I really enjoyed reading all about you. You were such an artsy kid and it sounds like you had such an encouraging childhood. Lots of room to experiment. :)

    I’ll line this up in my editorial calendar. Can’t wait to answer. :D

  2. hi drea! it was really fun reading your answers. you have such light and fun personality and artistic too. hope we meet in one of those craft soirees or artsy events again, and i hope to get a hold on one of your merbirds too! happy crafting! :)

Leave a Reply

