Drawn with thread

My lolo Maning was an excellent boxer, farmer, and tailor. He had a tailoring shop in Gagalangin and he made the most beautiful barongs for my dad, and uniforms for me. It’s quite sad that he was shot to his death by robbers inside his shop, but I keep fond memories of our happy times together and know him more through my mom’s stories about him.

My lolo Floring was a colonel, a Bataan Death March survivor, and he also sort of led our brothers/sisters in faith in our spiritist “church”. (Yes, I am a spiritist.)
He often fetched me from school when no one else could and I have a lot of fond memories about him as well. He often sewed shut the holes in his clothes, and would ask me to thread the needle since his eyesight wasn’t that good anymore.

Don’t even get me started on my lolas and their sewing skills. My lola Nena used to help me with my sewing homework and mostly ended up doing it because my stitches were crooked and really messy. My mom used to sew outfits for me, and I remember a very cute bolero she made me, long before I even knew what a bolero was.

In short, everyone in my family can wield the needle and the thread with confidence and flair (including my dad). Except me. I don’t have the patience for it or the hand-eye coordination, it appears . I bought myself those thick embroidery/needlecraft books from Reader’s Digest and Good Housekeeping and promised myself I would conquer embroidery/sewing one day. Because, possibilities.

The day came when I was brave enough to give it another shot. I  got all my materials ready, including gold embroidery thread and other luscious thread colors. One thing was missing, though, and that was–my needle. That big embroidery needle that I might have accidentally left at that book-binding workshop I attended months ago at 98B. Oops.

So my plans were scrapped. Until now. I plan on sewing my mom’s portrait for Mother’s Day so help me Universe. Here’s my work  in progress:

image

It’s also part of my #30bravedays challenge, which I’m enjoying so much! More on that soon.

Wish me luck! :)

5 thoughts on “Drawn with thread

  1. The portrait looks very cool so far- it definitely has a cool and contemporary style. I think you definitely shouldn’t give up sewing or embroidery and continue to try and explore the craft until you find your own relationship with it, whatever it might be.

    • Thank you so much for your words of encouragement! :) I’m looking forward to adding embroidery to it in the background and possibly adding beads for accent. :)
      I’m also excited to draw more on fabric and make thread drawings or try it freestyle :)

Leave a Reply

