DIY: Collaged washi cards

I was organizing my craft box the other day and I stumbled upon an old MT tape brochure I got from Heima years ago. I remembered how my love affair with washi tape started and until now I’m still excited about the endless possibilities washi tape can offer. I saw a project in the brochure involving polaroid and colored paper as art, stuck to the wall with washi tape. It inspired me to make these collaged washi cards, using the most abundant material at home: magazine cutouts!

What you’ll need:

– Cardstock (I used blank index cards but I bet brown cardstock would look amazing!)

– Colored paper (Or interesting-looking paper: Construction paper, crepe paper, art paper, origami paper, scrapbook patterned paper, vintage book pages, graphing paper)

– Cutouts from magazines (You can also check out nice images from newspapers! Or use your own artwork. šŸ™‚ )

STEPS:

1. Fold your cardstock in half. Cut the colored paper in a size a bit smaller than the cardstock. I used pinking shears because I can never cut a straight line. Heh. Position it wherever you want.

Image

2. Decide where you’ll place your cutout, you can use a dab of glue to stick it to the cardstock too.

Image.

3. Use washi tape to decorate the edges and to also stick all the elements to the card. I used the round edge puncher given to me by Nayna (Thank you!) to round off the edges.

Image

4. Voila! Instant collaged washi card!

Here are the other cards I did. I used a brown paper bag as the colored paper and cut the image with pinking shears for the first one. For the second one, I tore the colored paper for a distressed effect. Have fun making your collaged washi cards! šŸ™‚ I’d love to see what you can come up with!

ImageImage

4 thoughts on “DIY: Collaged washi cards

  1. cool tutorial. Am sending the mail swap thing on Monday. I hope you would like them along with the other surprise little crafty things I tucked in. Belated happy birthday!

    • Hello! Wow, that’s so sweet and fast of you! Am going to be finishing the package for you this weekend so I’ll mail it to you on Monday as well. šŸ™‚ Thanks in advance and I can’t wait! šŸ™‚ Thanks for the greeting, <3!

Leave a Reply

