DIY solid perfume, homemade jam and Art Fair Phils 2013 preview

So happy I got to tick off several items in my craft bucket list today!

1. Create my own scent, make solid perfume:
Got my recipe from BUST magazine, and tweaked it to my liking. Ended up with this rollable solid perfume, which smells like that Olive spray from Body Shop with tangerine notes and a hint of mint.

2. Make my own jam:
I got the recipe from BUST magazine as well! I tweaked it again, and the result is this Chili Strawberry Basil jam:

Here are my handmade homemade items, decorated with washi, lace tape, and a calligraphed label:

IMG_9525

3. Make my own decorative tape:

I also made ,my own fabric tape using nice trim! It was a bit tedious though, since I hated cutting straight lines, so I’ll probably just do this to the amount that I have to use at that moment:
Image

Today I also attended Art Fair Philippines 2013 (post about it soon!) and left it feeling inspired and fangirly.
Everything was incredible. All the artists are so talented and creative–go see it for yourself, the exhibit’s still up till February 10.

Here are some of my faves:
“Dream Awakening” by Daniel Dela Cruz (metal sculpture)

Image

“Cessation of Birds’ Song (Dusk)” by Geraldine Javier

Image

“Untitled 1-10” by Bernardo Pacquing

Image

This piece made with thread on silk by Eugenia Alcaide

Image

“Moon Roof” by Louie Cordero (with a shell frame)

Image

P.S. I’m working on a project involving another item in my grand bucket list, which is to self-publish a book. This time it would be filled with some flash fiction that I wrote and handmade mixed media collages involving crafts I made recently. So excited about this, stay tuned!

P.S.S. Just saw more than ten sets of fireworks, it felt so magical. My year of Magic and Wonder has been unfolding like a very good dream recently, thanks to the Universe. Happy Chinese New Year!

9 thoughts on “DIY solid perfume, homemade jam and Art Fair Phils 2013 preview

  1. I’m glad you had a really fun day! Thinking of how the different scents blend together with your handmade perfume — I’d imagine it smells very refreshing!

    Wow, Chili Strawberry Basil Jam — do you prefer it on toast, or on regular soft bread?

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ I spread it atop toasted whole wheat bread and pair it with peanut butter but I think it would also be okay with hot pan de sal. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

