Artsycraftsy bucket list weekend

An Alice-themed Dr.Sketchy Sketchmob, joining Ukulele Manila and trying sidewalk chalk art! All those items were ticked off my bucket list today, Yay!

I’ve always wanted to join in the events of Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School Philippines and I was able to join them today in a sketchmob at the fort today (another item in ze list!). I got even more excited when I found out that the theme was Alice, which I loved.

While waiting, I was able to try Carmen’s Best Salted Caramel ice cream at the Echo Store (new fave tambay place!) while I did this papercut entitled “Amihan’s Dream”:

Image

The other day I made another papercut that I called “Lyra’s Dream”. Am planning to make a series of papercuts revolving around the themes of dreaming, flights of fancy and feminism. Maybe I can make that “Have my works displayed in an art exhibit” dream come true some day soon? (Hint, hint, Universe) Haha. πŸ™‚
Image

Met up with a friend from fashion school and we got to know the awesome people behind the event.

Image

Free tattoo stickers!

Image

Here’s the first pose:
Image
Which I tried to draw using my favorite drawing tool, my calligraphy pen, and then I realized that using it to draw in less than 15? 20? minutes was more stressful than satisfying. Especially when I couldn’t erase errors and had to draw hands. I really have a hard time drawing hands. Must practice more:

Image

Did the next drawing using a normal pencil this time:

Image

After that I got to meet some of the great guys from Ukulele Manila. I shamelessly introduced myself to them and told them I wanted to be part of their group and they were very gracious and welcoming. (I’m now a part of their group too!). The partner and I have been jamming with my lolo’s pamana ukelele each night (that I covered with washi in this post and I can’t wait to learn more about playing it and jamming with the group. πŸ™‚
Image
Saw beautiful lampposts at BGC:

Image

Got to try another item from my bucket list: Sidewalk chalk art! Huzzah! The Doodle Art Enthusiasts group was there at the BGC walkway, doodling with colorful chalk and accommodating doodle requests. Was able to doodle as well, some LSPs and my merbird!
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
‘Twas a lovely, artsycraftsy day. ❀ Happy Sunday!

6 thoughts on “Artsycraftsy bucket list weekend

  1. Awesome weekend! T’was interesting to see Dr. Sketchy’s do the event out in the open air. πŸ™‚ Your ladies (both paper cuts and sketshes) are really pretty, and I like what you did for the eyes on the paper cut profiles. the oval fgives the idea of cheekbones too. And aargh, street chalk art! ang saya naman. And I do love your colorful merbird! We need to make a street chalk art event of our own!

    • Thanks for dropping by, Jonette! πŸ™‚ I think you’ll totally enjoy attending a Dr. Sketchy’s event! I was so excited about that street chalk art I was thanking serendipity and my lucky stars that day. It was really exciting! πŸ™‚ Yes, let’s make that street chalk art event happen! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

