Alice’s Dream and my first bento

For the first time, I tried papercutting at home. I was sprawled on the floor with my cutting mat propped against my legs and cutting very slowly and carefully lest I end up slashing my legs instead. I started this at CBTL but had to leave since it was getting too late and finished it at home. Here’s ‘Alice’s Dream’, because I love Alice and her curiosity:

Image

One of the items in my craft bucket list include preparing a nice bento lunch for my love. I always enjoy checking out bento photos online and am amazed at how meticulously prepared they are, and how they look too pretty to eat! I got what was left from my paid VL (one day? two? haha)Β  and rushed to the nearest Japan Home Store for some bento paraphernalia:

Image

Decorated the jellies with handmade stickers from Richelle and some deco tape from Frances (thanks, girls!).

The partner’s on a diet and can’t eat a lot of fried food so I made what I think is a healthy mix of savory and sweet: Panda egg with cucumber bamboo forest, herb-y steamed young corn with olive oil, orange wedges and apple with orange juice and freshly-cracked pepper for zing, and raisins as a pebbly surprise:Image

For me, almost the same thing, in a nifty ichigo bento box:

Image

The night before that, I pretended to be Alice and had myself a wee tea party. My tea pot is smiling (because she likes washi too, apparently) and I filled her with healthy malunggay tea which I drank in my handmade stoneware cup and saucer set from Crescent Moon.

I also adore the beautiful packaging of Vanilla Cupcake Bakery! I wanted to treat myself to a cupcake after a long day at work and was so pleasantly surprised when I saw the teapot box:

Image

Image

Check out the scallops on that handle! Lovely.Image

6 thoughts on “Alice’s Dream and my first bento

Leave a Reply

