Artsycraftsy interview series: Valerie Chua

Happy Easter! In keeping up with the theme of new beginnings, this here is a new series that I’m so excited about.

One of the things that I dreamt of when I started this blog was a series devoted to interviewing local artists and crafters who inspire me. The local arts and crafts community continues to grow and expand each day, and the influx of creative inspiration they provide never fails to amaze me.

To kick off this series, we have the super-talented Valerie Chua telling us more about her artistic process and sources of inspiration. I always love looking at her artworks because they transport me to a serene place filled with magic and wonder. Her use of color is gorgeous, and so are the girls in her paintings. (It’s my dream to own one!). I am in awe of her mastery of watercolor, especially since it’s a tricky medium for me. I find myself mesmerized by the intricate details in all of her pieces and her color palette with its soothing, calming hues.

Image

A Game Over Tea

Image

Gardenia

Image

She Waited

Image
Manora

Valerie Chua

1. What are your favorite tools in creating art and why do you love them?
I like working on paper using acrylic and watercolor. My tools are just the basic like paint brushes, pan sets, a spray bottle and paper.

2. Can you tell us about your daily routine or your artistic process?
I usually wake up at 7am. I start with cleaning my room, prepping my workspace and other morning necessities. I often start work at 9am. I take a lot of breaks in between and end work at around 5pm. Waking up early is very important for me. It makes and breaks my entire work routine so I never pull all-nighters unless it’s extremely important.

As for my process, I do a lot of thumbs and studies. I pick out what satisfies me the most and I work on this. I make color studies, enlarge it, refine it. 30% of the time it doesn’t turn out well so I repeat the entire process. It sometimes takes a while before I complete a work.

3. What inspires you? What makes you excited?
Traveling excites me a lot. When I’m in a different place I take a lot of photos. Looking at them gets me in a drawing appetite. I also like facial features. When I don’t know what to draw, I start with Aoi Yu, houses or plants.

4. Earliest childhood memory related to arts/crafts?
When I was 8, I had a cousin who drew girls a lot. I tried to copy her style. When I stopped seeing her a year later, I stopped drawing.

5. What is your philosophy when creating/making art?
Don’t think, just do.

Check out more of her work here:
http://valerieannchua.com/
http://valeriechua.tumblr.com/
http://green-tea.deviantart.com/

All the images above were taken from Valerie’s website.

Thank you for sharing, Valerie! 🙂

One thought on “Artsycraftsy interview series: Valerie Chua

Leave a Reply

