Artsycraftsy interview: Tippy of the Googly Gooeys

Gotta love an artist with a quirky sense of humor! Tippy from the Googly Gooeys shares with us her favorite tools and childhood dreams. Tippy is also a fantastic crafter (I love her mini clay props) and her watercolored works look so charming–
I think they’d look perfect in a children’s book. A girl after my own heart, she loves color too and you can see proof of it in the luscious photographs that she takes.

I always head to their site when I need a quick pick-me-upper, their posts certainly brighten up my day!

ImageImageImageImage

1. Hi, Tippy! Tell us a bit about yourself.
Hello! I’m Tippy.  I’m the cartoonist behind the Googly Gooeys.  I love, love, love colors.  I’m left handed and I write with my paper turned 90 degrees clockwise.  Most of the time, I really have no idea as to what I’m doing and why I’m doing it but I just do it because it makes me happy?

2. What are your favorite tools in creating art & why do you love them?
Laptop – I mostly do my lay-outs and comics here.  I do them with my trusty track pad.  I have yet to own a tablet and I hope to own & learn how to use one (or claim ownership of my hubby’s tablet) soon!

Calligraphy Pen, Ink, Watercolor Set & Watercolor Brushes – Before computers became common (and I just totally gave my age away!), I used to do everything by hand.  I would doodle with markers.  I had this Crayola calligraphy marker set when I was in grade school which I would bring with me all the time.  I almost forgot about how much I loved doing handmade stuff until I got injured last year.   Since I had more time to sit down (because I couldn’t walk as much), I finally had time to explore, re-learn and learn new stuff.  Initially, I thought that doing handmade things would take away time from developing my style digitally but recently, I’m just amazed as how it could actually affect one’s understanding of all those tools and brushes available.

Scissors & Double-sided Tape – There’s just so much stuff that you can do with a pair of scissors (which is so cliché and unoriginal of me, I know) and there’s double-sided tape for people who are crammers or people who want instant results like me 😉

Camera – I love taking pictures of non-living things.  I love making them, arranging them and taking pictures of them.

3. Can you tell us about your daily routine or your artistic process?
Step 1: Wake up.
Step 2: Gather inspiration pegs from allover (even though most of the time they don’t have anything to do with my current project and I’m just totally fangirling around the worldwide web. Haha.)
Step 3: Check to-do list / Create a new one.
Step 4: Work on project / projects.
Step 5: Try not to get tempted with side projects / personal projects.
Step 6: Give in to personal projects in between deadlines anyway.
Step 7: Get back to work & submit work to client (optional: take a photo / screenshot of it & upload on Instagram)
Step 8: Tape the piece of personal project on the wall (or take a photo of it on Instagram. Hihi.)

For blogging:
Step 1: Finally have the sense of urgency that people need to read new stuff on the blog.
Step 2: Cram & chase the golden hour of uploading and hope that creative juices will flow because of the pressure or hopefully be saved by the notebook of potential plots & stories for the blog.
Step 3: Edit the colors, edit the lay-out (or sometimes scrap the whole story).
Step 4: Upload &update all social networking sites.
Step 5: Work on other projects until it’s time to create a new cartoon.
Step 6 (Optional): Write fresh new ideas upon stepping out of the bathroom.

4. What inspires you? What makes you excited?
I’m always inspired by new color combinations and and the revival of some design elements. Most of the time, my motivation to move on to another project or create a new cartoon is to get the chance to mix new colors, elements and props!?  I’m also excited about being able to learn new things and techniques and improving my craft.

5. Who are the local & foreign artists that you admire the most?
Local: Rossy Yabut & the Heima team, Fozzy Dayrit, Valerie Chua, Aleyn Comprendio & Dan Matutina
Foreign: Garance Dore, James Gulliver Hancock, Katie Evans, Katie Rodgers, Anna Rifle Bond & Beci Orpin

6. Most inspiring place in the Philippines
I really think people should all go to Sagada & experience the sunrise in Kiltepan.  You have to be there at around 4/4:30am.  You’ll see the sun rise across the horizon while the clouds are waaaay below your feet!  When the sun finally decides to show itself, the clouds beneath you will part to reveal a majestic view of rice terraces.
Moments like this make you realize how much you’re missing out on life when you’re so engrossed with your day-to-day tasks and deadlines! (This is me talking to myself).

7. If you were stuck in an island and could only bring one art & craft tool with you, what would it be and why?
*Stares at paper bags of art materials brought for the weekend spent out-of-town and sighs*
Waahh! This is difficult.  Can I just have my laptop & wi-fi connection? Hahaha.   How long will I be stuck in that island so that I can compute what kind of tool I need to bring before it totally gets destroyed? Clearly, I don’t travel light 😛

8. Favorite snacks while creating art
Royal Dansk Wafers, KitKat Dark, Tea, Macarons & Panna Cotta

9. Earliest childhood memory related to arts / crafts?
It was our assignment to color in this rooster in pre-school.  I didn’t have any concept of color combinations back then but I was so amazed when my dad introduced me to the use of primary colors instead of pulling out random hues from my box.  Looking back, I don’t know if having a red, yellow and blue rooster really made any sense but that was my first ever lesson on color schemes ?

I also had this final project in pre-school where we were supposed to draw the seven days of creation.  My mom and aunt were so worried because I was underage—I was one year younger than my classmates.  They didn’t know where they should buy posters and such that I could just cut them up and we could all make a collage out of it.  I finally managed to draw all seven pages in my own crude little way.  I don’t really remember how it looked like but there was a bit of relief and fulfillment when it was done.  I knew I at least had something to pass. That was my first real project.

10. As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
At first I wanted to be an astronaut.  Sometimes, I had dreams about being able to fly.  Then they told me there were only a few astronauts who made it so I wanted to be a doctor instead.  Then I discovered that I’ll have to study forever if I wanted to become a doctor so I wanted to be an inventor or engineer since I thought drawing & measuring things was fun.   Finally, when I graduated from high school, I had the choice of taking up Civil Engineering or Management Engineering.  I took the latter.
While I was growing up, I would always stare at the stuff they sell in stationery stores and daydream about being to buy all the art materials I wanted to buy as a kid when I was older.  I’m happy to have fulfilled that dream. Haha.

11. What’s your current job now?
57% of the time, I would help out in the family business while 43% of the time, I blog, design & take pictures.

12. Favorite books and/or movies?
I’m not necessarily into books since I easily get distracted when I’m reading.  I must admit I enjoyed the whole Malcolm Gladwell series of books though.   I enjoy reading short essays from magazines such as Frankie, Time & Glamour UK—I know that’s such an odd mix of magazine titles! 😛  I also often find myself staring at pictures and artworks of design books more than actually reading the descriptions & articles.

As for movies, I really really like 500 Days of Summer and I love the soundtrack too! I know it’s been years since it has been shown but I always wish Tom & Summer ended up together. Haha.   When I was a kid, I also had a similar go-to movie: My Girl.  I watched it so many times and cried each time and watched it again anyway.  Gahhh…..I don’t know why I do that to myself!?!?

13. What is your philosophy when creating / making art?
Just do whatever makes you happy.  It may not make sense all the time but don’t be afraid, go on, follow your heart.

BONUS QUESTION:
The Universe starts from scratch and you’re given the chance to be reincarnated as a famous artist. Which artist would you choose and why?

This is a tough question.  I’d like to bit of all of them and sometimes, I wish I could just travel so that I could attend their workshops abroad.  On the other hand, for the artists I like who are no longer alive, I already know about their woes in life so that kind of leaves me not wanting to live their life because the endings to the stories have been revealed 😛  I would love to travel back & forth in time though to witness a week or so of their lives ?

Where can we see your awesome work?
Main Website: http://www.googlygooeys.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thegooglygooeys
Twitter: http://twitter.com/googlygooeys
Instagram: http://instagram.com/googlygooeys

What are you working on right now?
I’m currently working on a new blog post—a collaboration with one of my friends. I also have a few wedding / design projects lined up as well as events and exhibits.  I’m taking it a (half-)day at a time 😛

Thanks so much, Tippy!

All images above were taken from the website of the Googly Gooeys

Leave a Reply

