30 day drawing challenge, days 1-7

In the spirit of challenging myself, I joined the 30 day drawing challenge of Aileen.

Here are some of the drawings I’ve finished from Days 1-7. I’m really enjoying this challenge, and after the initial typical block of wondering what to draw, I find that experimenting with various techniques and materials to be highly pleasurable. I also realized that I dislike creating outlines with pencils, or just drawing with plain pencils–unless they’re colored ones. Due to this I’ve taken to drawing without outlines which results in a certain messiness that I’ve grown to love. This challenge has made me embrace the process more than the output, and to learn from each mistake. Thanks for this, Aileen!

Day 1: Yourself
Day 2: An animal
Day 3: An object in the room
Day 4: Favorite piece of clothing
Day 5: Fashion Illustration
Day 6: Something Involving water
Day 7: Inanimate Object come to life

Here are my drawings, starting from day one:

Day 1: Yourself
(Used a calligraphy pen, a really quick sketch so I don’t end up overworking it)

Image

Day 2: An animal
(A young fallow deer, drawn using watercolors and my water brush)
Image

Day 3: An object in the room
(That little mermaid metal statue)

Image

Day 4: Favorite piece of clothing
Image

Day 5: Fashion Illustration

(Used watercolors, no outlines–which means a bit of wrong proportions haha)

Image

Day 6: Something Involving water
(The day I married the sea, no outlines, watercolor)

Image

Day 7: Inanimate Object come to life

Image

Leave a Reply

