Artsycraftsy interview: Goldie Poblador

One of the local artists I really admire, I love how Goldie finds inspiration from nature and her surroundings. Soulful and introspective, her artistic explorations tend to engage all of your senses. My favorite would have to be her handmade glass vessels containing various handmade scents, all with that local flavor.

Like Goldie, I too am mystified by glass and how it is formed and created. I’m crossing my fingers that I get to learn more about working with glass from her soon!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

1. Tell us a bit about yourself and your art/craft.

Hi, I am Goldie and I started blowing glass in 2009 for my Bachelor of Fine Arts thesis project that was focused on using the olfactory sense of perception as a medium in fine art. I was very interested in new media and installation art and was interested in expressing my concerns about society in a different way. Subsequently I became interested in glass sculpting in order to create the vessels to contain the scents that were the vehicle for my narratives. I have been aggressively pursuing this art form ever since. I have fallen in love with the material.

2. What are your favorite tools in creating art and why do you love them?

I love my torch and borosilicate glass. Glass has always carried a mystery around its creation and I believe that as a medium, it is often taken for granted but if thought about carefully one will notice that a life without glass would be quite hard. We would not have wonderful magnifying tools that have aided in the advancement in our technology.

My true love for glass stems from the nature of its working process. When it melts it becomes liquid and one is only left with a certain amount of time to shape it before it becomes solid again. It is a beautiful medium that is often a mystery to me everyday that I work in my studio.

3. Can you tell us about your daily routine or your artistic process?

I wake up, brew myself some espresso, and get to work. I sometimes walk around or spend time time in nature to find some interesting shapes or stories. If I am working on a major body of work, I often spend months researching. I love the library. I cannot work without music.

4. What inspires you? What makes you excited?

History, The Subconscious, movies, music, different periods of art, literature, science, technology, nature, meditation. Random moments in everyday life. Pain, Happiness, Heartbreak, Release, Introspection, Mythology. People who are willing to connect and communicate make me excited. Conversation makes me excited. Books make me excited.

5. Who are the local and foreign artists you admire the most?

Josiah McElheny, Emilio Santini, Lucio Bubacco, Aya Takano, Hayao Miyazali, Kara Walker, Kiki Smith, Cai Guo-Qiang, Dale Chihuly, Hokusai, Maurizio Cattelan, Anish Kapoor, Nicholas Africano,  Stanislav Libensky, Gyorgy Gaspar, Matt Eskuche, Rodel Tapaya, Marina Cruz, Roberto Feleo, Leo Abaya, Lirio Salvador, Sandro Boticelli, Vincent Van Gogh, Lucas Cranach and this list can go on forever.

6. Most inspiring place in the Philippines?

Recto.

7. If you were stuck in an island and could only bring one art/craft tool with you, what would it be and why?

A knife. So I can hunt for meat as well.

8. Favorite snack/s while creating art?

Espresso 🙂

9. Earliest childhood memory related to arts/crafts?

Pretending I was mixing coloured water in the bathroom.

10. As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

A vet.

11. What’s your current job now?

Self Employed Artist.

12. Favorite books and/or movies?

Books:  One Hundred Years of Solitude, Haruki Murakami, Still Life with Woodpecker, The Fountainhead, The House of Spirits, The Shadow of the Wind, Anais Nin, Like Water for Chocolate, Outliers, The Princess Bride, Carl Jung, The End of Mr. Y, Dogeaters, Ermita, Where the Sidewalk Ends, Pippi Longstocking, and the list can go on forever.

Movies: Il Postino, Being John Malkovich, Eraserhead, Henry and June, Pretty Baby, The Hour of the Wolf, The Godfather series, Chungking Express

13. What is your philosophy when creating/making art?

Nulla e dificile a chi ama – Cicero ( Nothing is difficult if you have love)

BONUS question:
The Universe starts from scratch and you’re given the chance to be reincarnated as a famous artist. Which artist would you choose and why?

I would like to be Anais Nin and celebrate beauty and  womanhood and live a life of pleasure, romance and adventure.

Where can we see your awesome work? (plug away!) What are you working on right now?

You can see my work in the Lopez Museum (Grounded)  and The Metropolitan Museum of Manila (Riverscapes)

Visit my website for more info: www.goldieland.com

Thanks Goldie!

All images are taken from the Goldieland website (www.goldieland.com)

Leave a Reply

