Artsycraftsy interview: Pergy Acuña

Pergy is one of my idols when it comes to papercutting! I found out about her lovely collages through an online community and was so happy when I found out she was a Pinay too! I really admire her patience and imagination when it comes to creating fun, whimsical works of art using paper. She also sews adorable soft sculptures!

ImageImageImageImageImage

1. Tell us a bit about yourself and your art/craft.

Hello, my name is Pergy, I love moustaches and dreaming fascinates me.
I also enjoy creating stuff by hand.

2. What are your favorite tools in creating art and why do you love them?

I love working with paper, fabric and sharp objects. (scissors, x-acto blade, needles)
I love the feel and look of traditional arts and handmade crafts.

3. Can you tell us about your daily routine or your artistic process?

A lot of my time is spent conceptualizing and doing studies.
Then I get frustrated and ditch the whole idea and start all over again. 😛
After the final idea, I make cleaner pencil studies, then trace them and cut them.

4. What inspires you? What makes you excited?

For instant inspiration there is the internet, I also get inspiration from real life events/moments and people who are deeply passionate about something and anything.  A chance to travel is always exciting.

5. Who are the local and foreign artists you admire the most?

There are many local artists whom I admire, most of them I work with at Ang Ilustrador ng Kabataan.  Dali because his moustache is crazy and we have the same birthday, I also like Magritte, Elsa Mora is such an inspiring woman, a great paper cut artist and a lot more.

6. Most inspiring place in the Philippines?

In my dreams 😀

7. If you were stuck in an island and could only bring one art/craft tool with you, what would it be and why?

Scissors, I can use it to cut and kill for survival.

8. Favorite snack/s while creating art?

Sweet potato , green tea or coffee

9. Earliest childhood memory related to arts/crafts?

Making flower prints using okra and placing old crayons under the sun until they’re soft enough to be molded.

10. As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be an astronaut.

11. What’s your current job now?

I’m a freelance illustrator, full-time dreamer and a moustache connoisseur (not really!)

12. Favorite books and/or movies?

Amelie, Fight Club, Little Miss Sunshine, The Science of Sleep, Franny and Zooey / Nine Stories by JD Salinger.

Alice in Wonderland novel and picture books!

13. What is your philosophy when creating/making art?

If a job’s worth doing, it’s worth doing well.

BONUS question:
The Universe starts from scratch and you’re given the chance to be reincarnated as a famous artist. Which artist would you choose and why?

I don’t know, a travelling-singing-kung-fu fighting- artist- monk maybe?

Where can we see your awesome work? (plug away!) What are you working on right now?

My blog:  astartlingdiscovery.blogspot.com
And my collection of facial hair images:  http://mbgentlemensociety.tumblr.com/

Thanks, Pergy!

Images above are all from Pergy’s sites.

Leave a Reply

