Artsycraftsy experiments: Derwent inktense blocks on fabric , watercolor experiments and Yayoi Kusama portrait

As an early anniversary present, K gave me something from my wishlist: Derwent Inktense Blocks! (Thank you! <3)

Image

I have been having fun with it and studying ways on how to maximize its potential. I read somewhere that it works on fabric, so I tried it with a canvas pouch. The inspiration behind this is the children’s book “Lilit Bulilit and the Babe in the Womb” from Nick Joaquin’s series ‘Pop Stories for Groovy Children’.

Backstory: My parents saved up when I was young so they could buy the whole series and it was a big part of my childhood. We’ve donated them to an orphanage when we outgrew them, and I hope those kids loved the books as much as my brother and I did. I remember Lilit and her pearl necklace and how she liked sucking babies from wombs–she’s actually a very lovely monster based on the local aswang called “tiktik”–if I remember the story correctly. The illustrations in the entire series are beautiful, and I do hope they reprint the entire series soon!

Here’s what I did–I haven’t tried ironing it yet since I don’t have an iron and I haven’t washed it yet, heh. I used a Rubadub fabric sharpie for the outline so the details would be finer:

Image

I’ve also been experimenting with watercolor techniques. Stumbled upon Cathy Johnson’s tutorials and I just want to say that she is an excellent teacher. She’s so creative and generous with her knowledge. Do check out her other tips in her site.

With her tips, I tried creating various textures using watercolors:

Image

At Ayala Museum a few days ago, I was able to watch Near Equal Kusama Yayoi-I Adore Myself, which is a documentary about Yayoi Kusama from Japan. She’s one of my heroes, and it was very inspiring seeing how talented and hardworking she is. I love that she’s proud of her work; she tries her best to outdo herself and she succeeds. I was floored when I saw how meticulous her process of creation is–I get excited when there’s stop-motion process footage. With just markers and a huge blank canvas, she creates her trademark artworks filled with staggering detail and emotional weight. She has a modern, feminist vision when it comes to making art, and she has the guts and bravado to push that vision to the awe-inspiring finish. I love her and want to be her when I grow up. I made this portrait of her in the poster while waiting for it to start and was unable to finish it. Unfinished forever. Love you forever, Yayoi Kusama!Image

4 thoughts on “Artsycraftsy experiments: Derwent inktense blocks on fabric , watercolor experiments and Yayoi Kusama portrait

Leave a Reply

