My first drawing using colored pencils

I remember liking having my box of colored pencils around since I was a kid. I colored projects with it, treating it as just that– colored pencils. So I wrote letters using them and interchanged the colors for every word and made a few halfhearted attempts to doodle with them but stopped at that.

But now I have come to realize how much power these pencils have.

It started during snacktime. I was snacking on pomelo with salt and I snapped a photo and uploaded it on my instagram:

image

I joked that it’s my life goal to paint it, a joke which was half-meant, because it seemed really challenging, but I’ve seen realistic paintings and know that it is possible.

So I made it into a serious goal. I decided that I could finally use my colored pencils to try and draw something with the intent of making it look real, and also draw something real-looking, two birds with one stone.

image

I started with this at around 8 pm yesterday. Obviously I have no idea what I’m doing.

image

After several hours, here it was, the point where I was starting to feel tired and doubting myself and thinking about what my purpose in life is, haha. Existential portion!

image

Way past midnight, and I was still not done! At this point I was surprisingly enjoying the challenge so I pushed myself some more and slept at around 4 am, with the above drawing ready to be finished the next day, because, sleep.

We went to the Type Kita exhibit at 10a alabama today! More on this in the future hehe. But that meant the drawing must wait, and when we got home, it was waiting for me.

I soldiered on and after 9 hours, it’s finally finished!

I feel so fulfilled and happy haha:

image

And this is the start of my obsession with colored pencils, I can tell. 🙂

2 thoughts on “My first drawing using colored pencils

Leave a Reply

