Wrap-up: 30 brave days (and 30 more)!

In a past post, I mentioned how I wanted to be “braver” and jump out of my comfort zone. Thanks to Wanderrgirl’s #30bravedays challenge, I’m happy to report that the past month has been a very exciting one! Check out new brave things I did:

✔ Play the harmonica in my instagram account
✔ Create art using a pin and nail polish (inspired by @paperfashion)
✔ Meet, greet, have my harmonica autographed by all the members of Moonpools and Caterpillars. Ask for a hug from all of them
✔ Paint my wooden matryoshkas. Do not fear messing it up.
✔ Make mango salsa
✔ Try and join something that would require me to pester everyone to vote for me
✔ Taste new indian food and dine by my lonesome: dhal soup, paneer pudina tikka
✔ Agree to make commissioned artwork in watercolors
✔ Digital papercut using photoshop and mouse
✔ Try making loom bracelets
✔ Start of teach yo’self challenge
✔ Highlight my fave passages from books
✔ Draw my dream dresses from fave designers and tag them
✔ Teach myself Italian (Thanks Booksale and Duolingo!)
✔ Embossed tattoos! Take advantage of my dermatographia
✔ Frida tattoo from SF
✔ Draw using found branches
✔ Draw using a mechanical pencil–with pink lead
✔ Draw on black paper using glitter glue
✔ Climb rocky cliff on my own
✔ Swim to balsa on my own! Snorkel on my own, dive from balsa (all by my lonesome)
✔ Do that string art glue thing
✔ Make 30-second gesture drawings
✔ Buy things I do not know from Taiwanese grocery, eat them: asparagus ginseng juice, vegetarian mushroom oyster sauce, five-spice tofu (which I ate raw kase pwede daw)
✔ Embroidery portrait of my mom
✔ Make a watercolor portrait of my mom for mother’s day
✔ Make fashion sketches, and use fresh flowers for the dresses of the ladies (inspired by @grace_ciao)
✔ Paint a bottle from a photo I took, using gouache
✔ Get both sides of my head shaved, take selfies
✔ Start a makeup blog

I love how this challenge sort of “forced” me to think of brave things I can do every single day, things I probably would have put off for a later time because there’s no sense of urgency. Because of this, I am now inspired to do more acts of bravery, acts that would make myself proud, no matter how small it might seem to others.

The grand finale is my new makeup blog! I’ve been inspired by these lovely women, and this is something I’ve been thinking of doing for the longest time, but certain fears stopped me before: lack of funds for swanky makeup, mah bitchface when not smiling and uneven face when smiling (very awkward selfies, you have been warned), lack of a nice camera/computer for taking said selfies, lack of self control which might render me deep in debt, etc. etc.

 

I conquered all my fears today. In the end, my desire for having one won, and the basic reasoning that the “if you don’t like it, don’t look at it” rule can be applied in this case for haters of my face/my makeup experiments haha. When I am old and makeup can be bought and worn automatically through tablets rubbed against your face, that blog will make me nostalgic for the good old days. And I like memory triggers so here I go!

Interested in my new blog? Here it is. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Wrap-up: 30 brave days (and 30 more)!

  1. Everything is awesome!! Except for the last two… cause I think they are A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! phew! Wish I could pull off a rock star hair cut and the makeup blog too but not brave enough… Anyway, congrats on completing your 30 brave days! Everyday should be a brave day, actually. Yes? No? ok… 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your support and sweet words! I bet you’d look awesome with a similar haircut, ang presko, promise! I’m a bit nervous about the makeup blog because I don’t really have that much, but I really enjoy talking about it haha. Why don’t you try making one as well? It’s fun! 🙂 And yes, every day should be a day to stretch those “brave” muscles hehe 🙂

Leave a Reply

