Nib notes: eagle, john mitchell, sirt, lus pena

After so many years with horrendous penmanship, who would’ve thought I’d actually enjoy calligraphy?

In fact, I enjoy it so much that I treated myself to some vintage nibs from Inkandmanuscriptart. I tested some nibs using walnut ink:

image

Apologies for the blobs and inkstains. I practiced on scratch paper and was all giddy and trembly (as you can see in my paper lol).

I’ve always wanted to learn more about the differences between nibs so here I go:

Eagle 370: smooth, not that snaggy, nice hairlines

John mitchell 138: lush downstrokes, a bit snaggy

Sirt bronze: unpredictable, snaggy and blobby for me. BUT that’s just me. I shall try again in the future with this.

Lus Pena Legnani 621: nice flex, I like this.

I compared Lus with the Eagle since they felt similar, and the Eagle is less flexible, writes smaller.

Which nibs are your faves?

Leave a Reply

