Exploring the Universe: Japan 2015-Osaka!

I can’t get over how happy I was that we were able to visit one of my dream destinations last March: Japan! My excitement was beyond words–I was dreaming of this since I was a kid and I couldn’t believe we were finally going! There will be miracles when you believe!

I borrowed sd cards and filled around 10 gb with photos. In my excitement, most of those shots are blurry, though. I wanted to capture every moment but my hands wouldn’t cooperate, heh. I also wanted to fill my travel sketchbook with daily observations/food/people dorkwings but I couldn’t really decide if I wanted to draw or just stare at everything with happy tears streaming down my facee

(I did some drawings after, though, before I forget the happy memories. See my instagram for sneak peeks: @aphazia)

Here are some highlights of our Osaka trip. We went to Osaka, Nara, Kyoto and Tokyo.
Click each photo if you want to enlarge it. šŸ™‚
IMG_0015
Touchdown! First photo op, with vendo and Pikachu because why not:

IMG_0025

We ate at this resto where I had delicious katsudon and soup. This was super good.

IMG_0034

My first sakura sighting! I walked around the neighborhood and saw this and went emotional. I thought we wouldn’t be able to see sakura since from my research they already peaked a week before we arrived. Glad to know I was wrong! Ate a strawberry pon de ring (the best!) from Mister Donut from 7-11, an egg and orangina near this, thanking my lucky stars all the while.

IMG_0090

Art everywhere! Love the sculptures along the main road.
IMG_0106

My brother told us he saw what seemed like “tiangges” around 6 blocks from the hotel so we walked towards the area for dinner. It turned out to be around 60 blocks and we stumbled upon this DIY okonomiyaki place where I almost lost it because: bottomless bonito flakes and all the condiments! AAAAAAAAAAAAaaa
IMG_0149

Beside it was a store selling taiyaki: wafer fishies with red bean inside.
IMG_0153

Rush hour! Spring break! Universal! A bit wild, but still organized–if you’ve experienced our MRT rides during rush hour (and in the rainy season), you’d understand what I mean by “wild”.
IMG_0173

I loved seeing the matchy-matchy groups/couples inside!
IMG_0225 IMG_0234

Second sakura sighting, at the Sanrio area! I took a gazillion photos here.
IMG_0492

Butterbeer, finally! The cold one tasted like ginger ale, the hot one like cinammon. I loved the cold one more.
IMG_0552

IMG_0711

IMG_0740

We visited the Osaka Castle grounds the next day. It was a beautiful sunny day, perfect for walking around. I love how the people there that I’ve talked to anticipated sunny days. A lot of them told me when the sun would be out–a sign for partying in their beautiful parks.
IMG_0822
IMG_0905
IMG_1101IMG_1013

I wasn’t able to try on a kimono, but I was able to try on a samurai warrior suit! That headdress is super heavy and was tied so tight to my head so it won’t fall and kill someone by accident. I kid. Or not.
IMG_1082 IMG_1397 IMG_1476

I went crazy over the merchandise in this shop, a serendipitous find in a train station.
IMG_1496

What I love most about Osaka:

– The delicious foodums

– That bookstore above the train station near our stop

– The Ortigas/Makati vibe, with all the people with their determined/focused looks going to work

– That quirky/creepy building near our hotel which had a vintage-y jazz bar at the basement, which was cool and a bit eerie

– The transpo system was easy to navigate for someone directionally-challenged like me

– I saw so many sakura trees in full bloom at the Osaka Castle grounds! Wish granted!

Up next: Nara!

Leave a Reply

