Exploring the universe: Taal, Batangas

For holy week, my family and I visited Taal, Batangas. It reminds me of Vigan because of the old houses. Look at the beautiful door knockers:

image

image

image

image

We ate at cafe G, walking distance from Taal Basilica (we were craving halo-halo) which had very beautiful interiors. Ambience: A++! I love the theme of the resto, which was love. 🙂

image

image

image

The service was warm and friendly, and prices are reasonable, but unfortunately, the food left a lot to be desired. We enjoyed the tuna salad and broccoli and cheese soup (which arrived after all the main dishes were finished). My pasta order arrived after everyone was already finished eating, (they apologized since they ran out of pasta but I wish they mentioned it earlier so I could have simply changed my order, no big deal) and my chicken and mushroom alfredo did not have any mushrooms at all. 😦 It tasted like canned cream of mushroom soup but I was expecting even some mushroom bits. The canned cream of mushroom soup base also made it taste too salty, sadly. I could not finish my order because of it. My mom’s order was rosemary chicken which was too dry to be eaten and when she complained to the server they served her a better-cooked chicken, which was really nice of them. Props to them for that.
The halo-halo looked gorgeous:

image

It tasted just okay, a bit too sweet for my taste. It had nata de coco, macapuno, red kaong, ube halaya, whipped cream and a cherry and a thin crispy waffle on top. The other tables seemed to enjoy their cold drinks which was perfect for the hot summer weather. I really hope they improve on these shortcomings and I’m willing to give them another chance, maybe for merienda. 🙂 

I love the mural outside Tampuhan Cafe. We weren’t able to eat there but hopefully next time. 🙂

image

Leave a Reply

