Journal Journey: Ria of Imfeelingcraftytoday

0

1.) Tell us about yourself. What made you start journaling and when did you start?

I’m a mom of 2 boys.  I love documenting our family adventures through scrapbooking and journaling.  I had kept a diary (from papemelroti!) when I was in high school.  I didn’t write everyday, only on those days when I had something interesting to write about my crushes. 🙂

After high school, I didn’t write much except during moments when I felt sad or angry.  Then, I realized I didn’t want to have a record of those sad/angry moments lying around for someone to read, so I stopped again. I picked up journaling again a year after my second son was born as a form of therapy to combat the stresses of daily life.  This time,
it was more than just a “dear diary” thing, because I added some art into it.

2.) What journal are you using right now? Do you have more than 1 for various purposes? Do you have any specific qualities you look for in a journal?

I have more than one because I like to compartmentalize.  I have separate journals for food, patterns, travel, planner, recipe, bucket list,  #listersgottalist, etc.   I like buying journals with plain covers that I can personalize by adding stickers or stamping.  The binding is also important for me; I noticed that handsewn journals are better than stapled ones because they have less tendency to collapse.  The journal has to be able to withstand the wear and tear that stickers, watercolor and other materials can bring.  I almost never use lined paper.  I like blank pages that can handle even just a little watercolor. I don’t use the back pages because I don’t like bleed-throughs or show-throughs.

0-6

3.) What can we find in your journal pages? 

I like documenting our family adventures.  When we travel, I journal about our trip by painting the places I visited and the food I ate and then I also write down my memories of the trip.  I like sticking the memorabilia like plane tickets, brochures, etc.  to make it even more authentic.  I’m also obsessed with drawing my meals.

0-5

4.) Can you share your journaling routine and journaling process? How often do you journal? (What time of day you do it, your journaling setup in terms of materials, etc.)

I do my journaling late at night when everyone is asleep.  I can only work on my journal when it’s quiet and there are little distractions.  Doing it at the end of the day always feels like some kind of therapy to counter the stresses in my daily life.  My materials (stickers, pens, watercolor, stamps, inkpads) are all within reach so that I can start working immediately.

5.) What are your favorite brands for journaling and why? Do you have favorite stores for supplies?

For journals, I love using Labrador and the Hobonichi planner.  I also like using traveler’s notebooks from Traveler’s Factory and Airees Creates.  I use a lot of scrapbooking stuff from American Crafts, Kelly Purkey, Studio Calico and many more.  For stickers and stamps, I like buying from online stores like Saffy Tenten, Bee Happy and Hobby Depot.  I get project life cards from Life Documented Manila.  For items bought abroad, like from Studio Calico or Kelly Purkey, I join a monthly group buy hosted by my friend, Nicole Chua of Scrap Happy.  For physical stores, I love Lasting Impression in San Juan which has everything!!! National Bookstore and Scribe Writing Essentials too.

 

6.) What are your favorite journaling tools?

I like using acrylic stamps because they’re so versatile and reusable.  I am also crazy about stickers.  For illustrations, I use watercolor.  For writing, I just use a waterproof pen or any ordinary black pen.

 

7.) What’s the best thing about journaling that you wish everyone knew?

It’s a good way to record memories.  It always feels good to flip through an old journal and remember the past. It also inspires me to go out of my way to make my life more interesting to document.

0-1

 

8.) Any tips on how people can get started with journaling?

Don’t think that you need fancy art materials to start journaling. All you really need is pen and paper and commitment.  You can start with something as easy as writing “A Word a Day” to describe how your day went.  Then you can move on to doing “A Sentence a Day” and more until such time journaling becomes a routine.  I recently started journaling in a planner; I love that the pages are small so there’s no fear of the big blank page or the fear of having to fill a huge space.

0-4

9.) What is inspiring you right now in your journaling journey?

I follow a lot of journalers like you on my instagram feed. I always feel inspired to create after seeing other people’s work.  I also enjoy going on art tambays or any art event because it feels good to be around people who share the same interest.

0-2

BONUS QUESTION:
If you’re restricted to journaling using only 2 tools, what would these 2 tools be and why? 

It would have to be my Sakura Koi Watercolor Field Sketch Box because you can do anything with watercolor like paint, do lettering, etc.  The other tool is a Uni-Pin fineliner waterproof 0.1 pen so that I am free to write as much as I can.

 

 

Thanks Ria! Here’s where you can find more of Ria’s art:

Blog: https://imfeelingcraftytoday.wordpress.com/

Instagram: @imfeelingcraftytoday

All the photos in this post are from Ria.

Leave a Reply

