Journal Journey: Sharon (@ronnycakes)

14701232_192355701202348_8204974538660773888_nPhoto from Sharon. Follow her on instagram: @ronnycakes

 

Hi Sharon! Tell us about yourself. What made you start journaling and when did you start?

Hi everyone! My name is Sharon and I’m a wedding photographer and calligrapher based in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. I started journaling in mid-2015 and I started mostly because of two reasons – I was very inspired by some journalers on Instagram and also because I had a lot of left over maps and ticket stubs from my trip to the US in 2014 and I was looking for something meaningful to do with all of it!

14714512_329658824058966_5510691440201564160_n

What journal are you using right now? Do you have more than 1 for various purposes? Do you have any specific qualities you look for in a journal?

I’m currently using a Midori journal with 3 inserts – a monthly schedule insert,
a blank insert (for art and daily journaling) and I’ve recently picked up a weekly insert that I’m using as an inspiration/thought-log. I’m really enjoying it!

I don’t really look for anything specific in a journal, but I can’t stop talking about how much I love the Midori system for its flexibility and customizability. One thing I love about it is it gives you so many options for inserts and there will always be one that suits your style of journaling. Also, a leather cover will pretty much last you forever unless you’re like me (a straying eye) and find yourself wanting to collect all the colours…

14561831_195514067526217_2055970092629360640_n

What can we find in your journal pages? 

I mostly post photos of my journal pages on my Instagram account (@ronnycakes) but this year some of my pages have also been published in a Taiwanese journaling publication alongside some other fantastic journalers that I am a huge fan of – so it’s definitely been exciting!

Can you share your journaling routine and journaling process? How often do you journal?

I usually journal at night, after my day’s work has been done, and if I have no other work to do for the day. Or if I’m feeling a bit lethargic and bored I’ll pull out all my supplies and have a field day playing with them.

For a standard art page, I’ll start off with sketching and painting in my illustration and then fill in the rest of the entry with stamps, washi tapes etc afterwards. I usually think ahead to how I want to arrange my page and work from there. I used to journal almost on a daily basis but I think I got bitten by the lazy bug! Now I journal maybe 3 or 4 times a week and paint even less than that!

13743554_927182774094234_1405766462_n

14624361_353702204963881_4679015411818168320_n

What are your favorite brands for journaling and why? Do you have favorite stores for supplies?
I don’t have a particular brand that I favor, I buy things based on aesthetics. I like interesting and whimsy designs – for example the La Dolce Vita range of washi tapes are one of my favourites!
We’re quite fortunate in Malaysia to have many stationery shops that cater to journaling and some of my favourites have got to be Stickerrific (@stickerrific), Tabiyo Shop (@tabiyo_shop_) and Scrap’n’Crop (@scrapncrop).

What are your favorite journaling tools?

My favourite journaling tools… that’s quite a tough one. I would have to say my watercolour sets, watercolour sable brushes, and TWSBI fountain pen.

14515714_698472086972430_5351986299760803840_n-1

 What’s the best thing about journaling that you wish everyone knew?

That looking back on your journal gives you two things – a wonderful sense of accomplishment for all the pages that you’ve decorated, or done up (and for those who are like me – a sense of accomplishment for being able to stick to a hobby for this long!); and the incredible feeling of reading your past entries and remembering things that you’ve forgotten, or feelings that you’ve forgotten. I find that really meaningful.

 14561871_1219061481499954_8066704526196867072_n

Any tips on how people can get started with journaling?

Just start! Before I took the plunge I would flip through people’s journals and tell myself I could never do what they do, but when I started then I thought – wow this is quite fun and therapeutic after all. And I re-discovered my creative side after journaling – which I think everyone will too! 

What is inspiring you right now in your journaling journey?
I’m inspired by the whole journaling community as a whole – I’m constantly in awe with everyone’s journal layouts!

 BONUS QUESTION:

 If you’re restricted to journaling using only 2 tools, what would these 2 tools be and why? 

Wow this is a REALLY hard one – I think I’ll have to go for my Pro Arte Sable Brushes and Holbein Portable Watercolour Set (customized by Stickerrific!).

Thank you very much Sharon! See more of Sharon’s beautiful journals in her instagram page: @ronnycakes. You can also check out her site: wilsonsharon.com/calligraphy.

All the photos in this post are from Sharon.

Read the other Journal Journey entries here.

Leave a Reply

