Journal Journey series: Gennalie of @genspens

1956

 

Hi Gennalie! Tell us about yourself. What made you start journaling and when did you start?

Hey there! I’m Gennalie, but people know me as Gen for short. I’m a design student who loves stationery, journaling and drawing! I was an avid journal user as a kid, and I picked it up again last year as a way to sort out my mind. Last year I encountered the Hobonichi journal through an artist’s youtube and I was amazed by the simplicity and how flexible a journal could be used- so I bought one myself and it’s been history since.

What journal are you using right now? Do you have more than 1 for various purposes? Do you have any specific qualities you look for in a journal?

I’m currently using two journals – a Hobonichi Cousin (A5) and an A5 Leuchtturm1917 grid book. The Hobonichi is my daily journal where I write about random topics or recall about my day while the Leuchtturm1917 is my bullet journal, a rapid and customisable planning system. I like grids and good paper quality when it comes to journals. The grids help me align and centre the content on the page and good paper quality = more tools to use!

8311878

What can we find in your journal pages?

Tidbits about my life, stories, my days and adventures in both reality and fictional worlds. If I don’t have anything for an entry for the day, I draw something instead to fill the page! The Hobonichi is great in this sense with daily pages. In my bullet journal however you’ll find lists and to-dos I need to work on for the week, including assessments and stuff I need to follow up.

350

Can you share your journaling routine and journaling process? How often do you journal? 

I like to journal at the end of the day, as a way to cool off and vent and to drop off all the stress. I normally sketch out something with my mechanical pencil first and ink with either a Sakura Micron Pen, a brush pen or my fountain pen. I then colour in using either my Mildliners or my ZIG Clean Color brush pens. I like to keep my pages as monochrome as possible!

For my bullet journal, I set up the weeks (and month if needed) spread on Sundays and I write down my daily to dos the night before or morning of the day. It’s simple enough to set aside twenty minutes or less to set things up!

1748

What are your favorite brands for journaling and why? Do you have favorite stores for supplies?

Hobonichi for sure- the Tomoe river paper is a beauty and can withstand a lot of materials! It’s not too bulky as well and the covers allows you to carry additional stuff like stickers around! I also like the Leuchtturm1917, however the grid size is something I have to tolerate as I prefer the Hobonichi’s tiny grids. My favourite stores are Kinokuniya, which is a bookstore that also sells Japanese stationery, and Dymocks Stationery, where they sell popular western brands- Both can be found in the Sydney CBD!

What are your favorite journaling tools?

I absolutely love my Kakuno fountain pen, Sakura Microns and Zebra Mildliners. The latter two have been my tools since the beginning, and the first is a versatile, but great tool to work with! I also love the Sakura Gelly Rol White Gel Pen to touch up any additional details. Washi is also great to journal with- as it fills up the page easily with cute designs. I have a stash of washi in my drawer waiting to be used!

1211367

 What’s the best thing about journaling that you wish everyone knew?

Journaling is a very therapeutic practice and is a great way to look back on how you’ve grown or developed. Writing down my concerns and issues really helps my psyche and it’s fun to see how I have dealt with situations. Journaling is also very inexpensive if you wish it to be- a lot of journal enthusiasts are also stationery enthusiasts which is why a lot of people have a lot of supplies. I used to journal with just a pencil and a cheap scrap notebook!

1477

Any tips on how people can get started with journaling?

Stop worrying about getting things perfect or pretty and just start writing. No matter what, just write. I guarantee you that if you start writing for two minutes, you’ll fill up the page in no time. Journaling, like other arts and crafts is very subjective! There are so many types for you to explore- if one doesn’t work, just change it up!

1753

What is inspiring you right now in your journaling journey?

Right now I’m in the midst of a gaming phase, and it’s motivating me to keep journaling and jotting down my adventures so I can remember little things in each game- Animal Crossing: New Leaf and Pokemon moon! Those little successes really brighten up my day. Also the community itself keeps my inspiration up high. There’s so many creative people out there it astounds me and excites me to see what others are up to with every page!

BONUS QUESTION:

If you’re restricted to journaling using only 2 tools, what would these 2 tools be and why?

This is one of the toughest questions I’ve had yet….. I’d probably go with my Pentel Fude Touch Brush Pen and either my ZIG Clean Color Brush Pens or my Sakura Koi watercolour palette (so I can work on my skills of course!). I love all my journaling tools so much, it’s too difficult to choose!

 

Thank you Gennalie! You can follow Gennalie via her instagram account:  @genspens

Do check out her tumblr as well!: http://genspen.tumblr.com

 

All photos provided by Gennalie.

Leave a Reply

