Highlights of my 2016: The Year for Abundance

Here’s an extremely happy photo of me in MoMa New York, taken by a kind stranger I took photos of:

img_6586

 

I’ve made it my goal to start the year with a vision in mind, and I named 2016 as The Year for Abundance. Little did I know that 2016 will be filled to the brim with opportunities, new adventures, new experiences and new friends! So glad I used this word as my word for the year. Here are some of the highlights of my 2016:

❀ Went to Art Fair and Art in the Park πŸ™‚

❀ Did lots of journaling in Taal, Batangas

❀ Got invited to the #Smstationeryartfest event

❀ Joined the #100dayproject and drew hands

❀ Brush calligraphy on tote bags for Avon, all through Geli! Thanks beh πŸ™‚

❀ Urban sketchwalk at BGC with Kuya Robert

❀ Had a series of private watercolor workshops

❀ Together with the #artitasofmanila, we painted a higante for Nayong Pilipino’s Parkfest!

❀ Finally visited New York. I’m realizing I really miss it nowadays.

❀ Went to Vegas!

❀ Created a one-second everyday video of my US trip. Excited to do this more when traveling

❀ Saw Hoover Dam and Bryce Canyon!

❀ Stayed overnight at Sonya’s Garden, painted a lot.

❀ Obsessed with planners and journals so I made a post on how I decorate mine!

❀ Joined the #colorexploration project of Tita Ella (@ella_lama) and Tita Ria (@hueandai)

❀ Artambay goes to Baguio! With Ella and Aiz_kim πŸ™‚

❀ Talked about how people can be inspired to create art consistently for #realtalktambay

❀ Started #LadiesDrawingNightPH because I was so inspired by the one from the U.S.

❀ Finished Inktober 2016 with illustrated women

❀ Started a series about people and their journals, called Journal Journey here in my blog

❀ Collaborating with the gf for a Women Empowerment project, From Her to Her. You can still submit your words of wisdom! Click here.

❀ My brush calligraphy being reposted by my idol Grace Bonney of Design Sponge in her instagram!

 

❀ Posted about exchange gift ideas from SM Stationery!

Workshops attended:

-Woodworking, Portrait painting with @carlacochua and @beyondreverie, Florals with @arlenesy.

❀ Sold my handpainted stickers at Ella’s booth for Art Mart!

❀ Joined a session of “People Painting Faces” hosted by @justaddwaterph

❀ Shot several journal flipthroughs and timelapse vids in my instagram! (@mabuhaydiy)

 

Favorite books this year:

❀ A Man Called Ove

❀ The View from the Cheap Seats by Neil Gaiman

❀ Crazy Rich Asians and China Rich Girlfriend haha

❀ Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbery

 

Obsessions this year:

❀ Acrylic stamps

❀ My Midori

❀ Stickers like when I was a kid

❀ Podcasts

 

Fave movie this year:

❀ The Handmaiden

 

I keep on listening to:

❀ BOY

❀ Shura

❀ Scavenger Hunt

 

2016, you give me tons of mixed feelings but this list makes me feel better. I hope the world becomes better next year, I hope people can be better humans. Can my 2017 be the year for positive change? I’m still thinking of my word for 2017, but I still have that hope about humanity inside me. Here’s to a better year ahead! Happy Holidays!

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Highlights of my 2016: The Year for Abundance

Leave a Reply

