2017: The Year for mindfulness

Happy new year, lovely friends! 🙂

Honesty time: 2016 was such a ride–there were times when I wanted to just shout–“stop the ride, I want to get off!”-but thankfully there are still those moments that made me feel grateful for this lifetime.

I summed up a list of the highlights of my 2016 in my previous post, and I think I am still processing this hell of a year both in terms of internal (i.e personal life) and external (politics in this country and internationally) factors. I think 2016 made us re-assess our values and what’s important to us and I certainly learned what I can and will definitely not tolerate. I think you know what I mean, wherever you might be in the world.

It makes me feel glad though, knowing that some of my family and friends feel the same way so I feel braver and more hopeful knowing that.

Journaling also helped me deal with my feelings. I used to write long personal entries in my livejournal and in my analog journals before and am trying to get back in the habit of doing that for my eyes only this 2017.

But! Decorating my art journals and planners certainly nake me feel happier too. Especially if I use my colorful art materials like pens, washi tapes, and stickers. I also joined several local planner and journal groups on facebook and the friendly planner/journal lovers there make me even more excited to play with my journal pages. 🙂

Here are some of my pages:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

See more of my pages in my instagram page: @mabuhaydiy 🙂

I’ve been organizing my stuff and I have come to admit that my hoarding problems tended to get the best of me. This also means less savings and more clutter so I plan on being more mindful about my purchases next year. I started with unfollowing temptation which came in the form of online stores lol. I also want to try to meditate more and try to be more calm and relaxed this 2017 onwards. With the help of analog journaling, a meditation app (calm is the best), and listening to my body, I hope I get to be more mindful this 2017. Mindfulness is my key word for 2017, what’s yours? 🙂

Leave a Reply

